SPN Working Groups are organized around the network’s core activity areas. Working Groups have clearly articulated scopes and action plans that map to specific SPN Strategic Goals.

Law & Policy

The Law & Policy Working Group supports SPN’s goal to explore and document fair use, licensing and information policy specifics pertaining to the lawful preservation, sharing and reuse of software in cultural heritage and research contexts. This charge also includes policy at the institutional level as it pertains to collection development, day-forward enterprise software licensing and information security.

Coordinator: Paula Jabloner (Computer History Museum)

Members: Brandon Butler (SPN Law & Policy Advisor, University of Virginia) and Yuanxiao Xu (University of Michigan) 


The Metadata Standards and Policies working group is responsible for developing, promoting and advocating for common metadata frameworks and related metadata standards, vocabularies, and ontologies that support software preservation and access. This working group will collect and analyze existing metadata standards, develop approaches for establishing a common metadata framework, suggest crosswalking strategies, and promote community awareness of complementary standards.

Coordinator: Elena Colon-Marrero (Computer History Museum)

Members: Matthew McEniry (Texas Tech University), Cynde Moya (Living Computers: Museum + Labs)


In support of the Software Preservation Network’s (SPN) mission to preserve software through community engagement, infrastructure support, and knowledge generation, the Research Working Group facilitates research projects that bring individuals and organizations with diverse perspectives and interests together to document and analyze the landscape of software preservation and access. The Working Group aims to explore frameworks for sustainable, transparent, community-based research and to advocate for innovative models of research that accelerates practice. Research Working Group members also play a crucial advisory role in research activities initiated by other SPN Working Groups.

Coordinator: Seth Erickson (Penn State University)

Members: Jessica Benner (Carnegie Mellon University), Wendy Hagenmaier (Georgia Tech), Monique Lassere (University of Arizona), Christa Williford (Council for Library and Information Resources), and Lauren Work (University of Virginia)

Training & Education

The Training & Education Committee develops resources and hosts outreach activities that raise awareness and broaden participation in software preservation. Training & Education plays an important translation role — sharing the findings and deliverables of SPN working groups and affiliated projects to digital stewards, maintainers, users of software, software creators, researchers, educators, students and broader publics that have a stake in securing long-term access to software-dependent cultural heritage.

Coordinator: Devon Olson (University of North Dakota)

Members: Katherine Boss (New York University), Neil Chue Hong (Software Sustainability Institute), Sherry Lake (University of Virginia), Michael Olson (Stanford University), and Elizabeth Parke (University of Toronto)

Technological Infrastructure

The Technological Infrastructure Working Group is responsible for understanding, comparing and articulating the infrastructural implications of different software preservation and access approaches. This charge may include specifications for computing configurations needed to run common packages used in the preservation environment, or the creation of documentation necessary to make existing software packages more usable. This group is interested in engaging members of the digital preservation ecosystem in experimentation with existing tools for access and preservation of software in an effort to establish a community-driven development roadmap that serves the broadest spectrum of users.

Coordinator: Eric Kaltman (Carnegie Mellon University)

Members: Andrew Berger (Computer History Museum), Ashley Blewer (Artefactual Systems), Nick Krabbenhoeft, and Vicky Steeves (New York University)